Torchlight Review

torchlightReviewing Torchlight is a tough one for me. It’s not a buggy game, everything works very efficiently, and the graphics and sounds have a clear unity to them. But I will never ever touch to this game again if possible. It doesn’t have any charm, the setting is dull beyond all belief, the identity it tries to build falls flat, the combat is exhaustingly boring, and the item hoarding reached its new pointless peak. Like I said there’s a unity to the graphics but they possess no appeal whatsoever. They’re just there. They don’t add anything to the game — certainly not atmosphere. Everything looks like a kiddy cartoon and strips the experience from any emotion there was left. You never find anything useful in the dungeons. I bought everything I used and only gathered stuff to sell it. The spells are useless. I wanted a mage but ended up using the special skill that by the way don’t get bonuses from your skills that you can level up. The levels are so repetitive that I barely noticed when their themes changed. The general jist of it was: switch the doodads around a bit and put up different color wallpapers. Then there are the end bosses which bring the word “boring” to a new level. It’s just running and grinding. For minutes. Or in the case of the final boss possibly HOURS (I can’t know for sure because I had to use cheat codes to get through it before I fell asleep). This game does so many things wrong that it doesn’t deserve any sort of recognition. It is just horrible.

Leave a Reply

