Things I Played in January

XCOM 2

xcom2_banner

XCOM 2 really wasn’t too bad. I just don’t know if it’s my kind of game. I don’t get any satisfaction out of planning the perfect execution for a mission. I can absolutely see the appeal. It’s just not for me. Also, the GUI was bugging me out constantly. The game was laggy and enjoyed wasting my time in general by displaying its lavish animations. Maybe I could enjoy it with mods that make the experience smoother, but I just don’t care enough.

XCOM 2 Stream Part 1

Mercenary Kings

mercenary_kings_banner

Bullet-spongy enemies, ton of +0.1% crafting, and cutscenes on top of cutscenes. The art style is amazing. There are so many enemies it blows my mind. All the equipment could fill a book. It’s just very shallow. The difficulty comes not from executing a move perfectly but from having the patience to execute it 100 times in a row. If you cut out all the variable names and pretty sprites of the crafting system, it all boils down to this: spend resources so you don’t have to waste so much time. It just wasn’t engaging. What a shame.

Mercenary Kings Stream Part 1

FarCry 3 Blood Dragon

blood_dragon_banner

I was looking forward to this little piece of DLC. But it had nothing but problems to offer. It was buggy as hell. I lost all my progress due to a crash. There are SO MANY cutscenes and tutorials I had to force myself not to just quit it immediately. The game makes fun of its annoying tutorials, but guess what, THEY’RE STILL ANNOYING TUTORIALS! I wanted a funny, oldschool shooter that harkens back to the 80s sci-fi action films. It wasn’t funny. It was irritating. Maybe the open world parts would be more fun which is why it blows my mind that they would start the game with some braindead “protect the NPCs” missions.

Blood Dragon Stream Part 1

Leave a Reply

